Lost and found

For a long time after we moved I went through boxes and boxes of papers looking for one thing. I remember taking it from the mantelpiece in my old house and putting it somewhere safe where I could easily find it because I knew I was going to be needing it.

Once we had moved I couldn’t find it. I searched and searched but to no avail.

Last week I sent off the documents to change my driving licence to reflect my new address and now my new name. I tracked the package and found that it was delivered to DVLA  on Thursday. On Saturday evening we were turning the office upside down looking for something else, when I checked one of my box files there it was sitting on the top. I had found it just a few days too late. If I had found it sooner I could have saved myself £20. The paper part of my driving licence. Years it had sat in the drawer then moved to my mantelpiece but when I wanted it, I couldn’t find it until 4 days after I had given up searching.

We have been looking for the most recent MOT certificate, but now that our car is at the garage awaiting an MOT tomorrow I expect we will find the lost certificate this week.

2 comments on “Lost and found

  1. Mig says:

    Somewhere I’m sure I have a driving licence.
    Your MOT certificate ought to be available online surely? Now that they can chase you up and pin you down online it would be most unfair if you couldn’t reciprocate!

  2. Mig
    I went online and put in the number on the most recent certificate we could find, this told us that there is a more recent MOT. However we have now had the car for exactly a year and the only garage we take it to has no record of putting it through MOT. We know we bought it with MOT.

Leave a Reply

