Getting excited

Tomorrow we are off to the travel agents, we have decided that after spending hours online we shall allow someone else to do all the work. We have done our homework so have a good idea of prices and what is possible.

We know that we want to fly to San Francisco for 2 weeks, we know that we want to hire a car preferably a mustang or similar. We know we want to spend time with family who live not far from San Francisco. (the reason we are going). We have a good idea of the dates we want. Late May/early June.

We know we want to visit Alcatraz, Lombard Street and of course Fisherman’s Wharf. We agree that Nappa Valley should be included and Owl wants to visit Sacremento for the State Military Museum. We know that Los Angeles is worth a visit. One thing we both want to do is take a hot air balloon trip.

What I need now are ideas from anyone who knows what they are talking about as to how to fill our time. I am fast beginning to realise that 2 weeks won’t be anywhere near enough time to do everything. Our conclusion is that we shall have to prioritise.

So come on all you good folk of California and those of you who have visited. What are the must see places for a couple of old crocks like us.

9 comments on “Getting excited

  1. Debbie says:

    I will be sending out a survey on my Facebook page. I have never been to California, but I’m sure I have a friend or two that might be able to recommend a restaurant, site, etc. for you and Owl to visit. Very excited for your get-away.

  2. Mig says:

    It sounds to me to be already a full and exciting trip. I know absolutely nothing about San Francisco or Sacramento but I suggest looking at Google street view of places you will be near. I’ve found some lovely places like that. The people you are visiting may have suggestions?

    • Hi Mig, the people we are going to be visiting are my new step children which is both exciting and daunting as it will be the first time of meeting them in the flesh although we talk on skype.

  3. Debbie says:

    I have not had much luck with my Facebook friends, however Mart and I have decided that there should be a remake of Steve McQueen’s Bullitt movie. LOL Also, in my one click search I was able to find a nice little local garage that works on only Mustangs. Didn’t know if Owl might think it would be worth a quick visit. Here is the link: http://www.yelp.com/biz/r-mustangs-san-francisco#query:mustang%20parts

  4. Mig says:

    Ooh! Like Bolinas Bay and Lagoon just North West of San Francisco and over the Golden Gate. And Alpine Lake nearby.

  5. I have just checked Bolinas Bay is just 31 miles from where the family live

Leave a Reply

