short tale

In the UK it has been a public holiday weekend. Each weekend my colleagues in the office ask me if I have any plans for the weekend. I have taken to saying that just to survive it would be a good plan.

This weekend especially with it being a 3 day weekend I decided that I would write a short story. I have decided that I need to get back to writing fiction. I am often asked by friends when am I going to write my first book. I am not convinced that I am able to write a whole book but maybe a group of short stories are within my ability.

I spent most of Saturday mulling over a variety of subjects to write about….inspiration, or rather the lack of it, is my biggest problem. My second biggest problem is that I find writing speech difficult. I much prefer setting the scene, thinking up twists etc. But writing speech holds me back from writing more often.

Eventually after several hours I came up with an idea. I got the first sentence written and then the next. How to continue? I have no choice this has to be written mostly in speech otherwise the story won’t work. 570+ words later I saved my new story into a new folder “short stories” in my documents. I would continue later once I had decided where the story was going to next.

It was Sunday morning when I was ready to continue, this was when I discovered that my computer had decided not to recognise me. My profile wouldn’t load. My son managed to copy most of my files over to another (non administrator) profile on my laptop. But the folder containing my short stories file was locked, I cannot gain access, my password is not working. Unable to retrieve my story I had to re-write it.

Today I finished writing my new story.

Here is a short excerpt.

‘Green tea or builders?’

‘Oh right, got any coffee I do love me coffee I does. How about yer show me around so I can see whats what while that kettle boils.’

‘Um er I’ll have a look we might have some coffee but none of us drink it so I can’t promise. Ah yes he we go, I better check the date though as I have no idea how long it’s been there. Oh that’s ok ha ha it’s in date by 2 months. I hope you don’t take sugar cos we don’t use it well the kids do but me and Katie don’t.’

‘No ta I brung me sweetner wiv me, carry it everywhere just in case folks don’t have any.’

Billy set off up the stairs with Helen following still chattering but Billy wasn’t really listening.

‘As you can see this is the bathroom, you might want to start with this and the kitchen, I’m going back to work, let me know if you need anything.’