Taking it slowly

Anyone who knows me will know that I am not fast in anything I do. Recently I have increased my walking, currently my pedometer App tells me that I am averaging 8189 steps per day, that is much better than the 3 to 4 thousand I was averaging when I was using this App a year ago. Some days I manage 12k, I think I had only ever managed a maximum of 11k once before.

The other evening we were discussing how much exercise we are both getting these days. Owl was saying that he feels so much fitter than he used to do.I on the other hand do not feel fitter. My stamina has increased. I can walk around delivering or picking up catalogues for an hour and a half without having to stop for a rest. Before this I had to rest after about 20 minutes.

I am glad that my stamina is building up, it doesn’t stop my arms and legs from aching when I do stop though. I am still a slow walker, I guess it is possible that my walking speed has improved slightly, especially at the start, but not by much.

All this extra walking that I have been putting in, is probably a contributing factor. My reduced appetite and receding sweet tooth have also contributed. To what? you might be asking.

Today I had my half annual Diabetes check up, Along with blood tests and blood pressure, I was also weighed. In the last year I have lost one and a half stone. I did not do this by going on a diet. I did this by eating less and moving more.

Slowly does it. I feel really proud of myself.

Leave a Reply

