Hankeen Gabriel reply to Gumtree ad

About six weeks ago I wrote this post about the scams we had come across during our efforts to sell our car. The good news is that we have sold our car.

However I have noticed over the weeks that my post about the scams has been getting more traffic than more recent posts. Today I have had two separate comments from people who have been contacted by Hankeen Gabriel following ads being placed on gumtree.

I am sad that these people are being bothered by this person but I am glad that my post which mentioned his contact with us has helped others to avoid him. I don’t know how his scam works but I am sure it is just that.

I wonder how many people have been caught out by this person in the last couple of months since we had our message from them.

I am thinking now that perhaps we should all report them to Gumtree and perhaps the police before they can con someone innocent who doesn’t realise there is anything odd.

I have now emailed gumtree and had an automated response saying they will look into it and get back to me within 6 hours.

I will keep you posted.

 

Here is the reply I received last night.

Thank you for your email reporting this to us – we take reports of this nature and the safety of our users very seriously and use information such as this to help improve the site experience for everyone.

The information you have shared with us does, in our experience, show patterns commonly associated with fraudulent activity.  For these reasons, I strongly advise you not to pursue contact with this person. We will use the information you have provided to further investigate this user’s activity on Gumtree.

I am very sorry that you had to come across this. We try our best to prevent these situations from happening and have a dedicated team of Customer Service agents on hand 24/7, 365 days a year who are available to assist with reports of this nature.  You may wish to re-visit our Safety tips and read up on what we’re working on at the moment at the following link: http://help.gumtree.com/knowledgeSafe

If you have any other information that you feel would be useful to stop this individual or others acting in a similar way, please let me know; you can reply to this email or use the “Report this Ad” function which can be found at the top of every Ad.

I thank you very much for taking the time to report this to us so that we can take action to protect others. If you have any further concerns about any personal information you have shared with this user, please do get back in touch at this email address.

Kind regards,

Andrew
Gumtree Community Team
www.gumtree.com

9 comments on “Hankeen Gabriel reply to Gumtree ad

  1. John says:

    Thanks very much guys – really appreciate this blog. Just had Hankeen Gabriel contact me to buy my car. Initially I didn’t twig it was a scam so sent my paypal email address but nothing else. He replied to me with this email:

    I was just about to make the payment when i had this little problem with the pick up agent.. He said he won’t come and pick up the item unless i pay him the agent commission fee first in order to be able to schedule a pick up time ,and my pick up agent head quarters is in the state and all commission payments made for pick up, from anywhere in the world is sent to their head quarters in the state and the only form of payments they accept is western union money transfer and i tried to pay online but i will need a credit card which i didn’t bring along, and there is no post office(there is usually a western union section in have to ask you to help me with the pick up fees, i will include the £450 they charged to pick it up and take it my home(1st class treatment), to the payments i will send through paypal. After i have made the payments and it has been confirmed by paypal, i will need you to help me send the £450 to my pick up agent through western union money transfer, the western union money transfer can be made at a post office near to you,there is always a western union agent in most post offices or online at http://www.westernunion.co.uk .I will be making the payments shortly and will email you as soon as it has been done.

    So the scam in the case it to try and get you to send funds via Western Union. Hopefully anyone else in this position will see this blog and avoid the scammer!

    Thanks again for this blog, saved me losing £££ to this terrible scammer.

  2. John says:

    Oh sorry, forgot to mention, this is his email address that he used to contact me: hankeengabriel@gmail.com. If contacted, please AVOID !

  3. tara says:

    Hi john i am so grateful for your post as this person has just contacted me and stated exactly what you have mentioned above you have saved me a lot of money thank you.

  4. Nichole Bruce says:

    Just been emailed by Hakeen Gabriel in response to my car ad from hankeengabriel@gmail.com

    Hello thanks for reply,i am currently on offshore working as an health and safety manager on the rigs, . I am buying this for my son as a surprise gift. However,does it have any history I should be aware of? and why are you selling if you don’t mind my asking and I will really appreciate if you can email more info and if possible more photos.I can only pay through Paypal at the moment as i can not come to pay you cash personally or send you check due to my present location but i have it attached to my Paypal account and this is why i insisted on using Paypal to pay,all i will need is your Paypal email address to make the payment, and if you don’t have a Paypal account yet, you can set one it cant take you less than 3 mins to do that, i will be expecting your Paypal email so l can pay . I have a pick up agent that will come for the pick up after payment has been sorted out and cleared in your account,l will be waiting for your reply asap.

    Read it and thought it was alittle suss so did a google search – thanks to everyone posting warnings about him.

    My husband had replied but when he comes back will tell him to f**k off 🙂

  5. Elke says:

    He’s still at it – but goes under the name of James Gabriel here in Australia. Exact same message with regards to the Gumtree ad we posted to sell our boat. I thought the detail in the message was a bit OTT so my husband googled it. (Thanks for posting about this scam!! ) I am thinking of responding to him saying my sales agent requires $450 in Western Union funds before his collection agency can pick up. See what he reckons about that!

Leave a Reply

