Pretending

Today I have been pretending.

It might have been a Bank Holiday here in UK but it has been a wet miserable Monday. So I have been pretending. No I wasn’t pretending to be a princess or an air hostess, I was pretending that I can be domestic when I want to.

Throughout my supposedly adult life I have done what I have to do to keep my family happy and healthy, but I have not really been naturally domestic. I cook, clean, and wash, as much as is needed. I have tried to give my family the home they deserved, without having to be too domesticated. Over the years I have knitted jumpers, sewn on buttons and repaired ripped trousers etc. I have even learnt how to cook without burning everything. My sons will never stop reminding me about the time Pug’s friend came to tea and I burnt a whole tray of smiley faces (potato shapes).  My current husband is even under the illusion that I am quite a good cook. I know they say practice makes perfect, well I guess I must have practised enough to be passable, another 20 years and I might be getting closer to perfect.

Today though I have been pretending to be a perfect housewife, I actually cleaned the oven. Oh, don’t get me wrong, I have cleaned the oven before just not as well as this. I am actually quite impressed that the oven racks are now gleaming chrome instead of blackened  metal.

What have you done recently that has been an achievement you have impressed yourself with?

 

Leave a Reply

