Words

I have been keeping track of the word count on my debut book but until now hadn’t given a lot of thought as to what my final word count target should be.

I have begun following this blogBreezy Books I found this post quite amusing. I’ll be dead by then

It got me thinking about my word count so here goes

Title

Secrets of No 15  

Chapters as they currently stand

Helen   1259

Slugs   1419

Weasels   3864

running total  6542

Now if I set myself a target of 80000

That leaves me with  73458 words still to write

If I am to submit my work for this competition Richard and Judy search for a Best Seller I need to get writing to get the first 10.000 words completed in time .The deadline being 1st January realistically means before Christmas.

I shall endeavour to post an update of my progress weekly.

 

Here is a taster of what I have written so far:

 

Billy arrives at The Cricketers in an flap.
‘Hi Matt, sorry I’m a bit late, you would never guess in a million years what just
happened to me.’
‘Ok tell me but first what are you drinking? First round is on me.’
‘Umm I’ll have a pint of, no I can’t, it’ll have to be orange and lemonade heavy on the
ice please Jack.’
‘What ever is the matter with you drinking that on a Saturday?’
‘It’s only because I dropped Jake off in Chichester, and as it’s still raining I decided not
to take the car home first especially as I was already running late.’
‘Never mind you’re here now, sure you won’t have a half?’
‘No best not, Katie would kill me if I did.’
‘You could always leave your car here you dolt.’
‘Ok ok I know but I don’t fancy walking back today, any other day I would as you know.
I usually do walk. I might add.’
‘There’s an old couple sat in our normal corner shall we sit by the front window and
watch the idiots walking their dogs in the rain.’
The pair move over to a round table beside one of the four large bay windows
overlooking the village green.
‘What was it you were going to tell me?’

“What? When? I thought you had something to tell me.’

‘I do but that can wait, what were you going to tell me before I interrupted you with my
generous offer to buy you a drink.’
“Was I?’
‘Yes you were Billy, what is up with you today, you came in all excited saying I
wouldn’t guess what had happened to you. So?’
‘Oh um I don’t think it could have been that the weasels are having their practice in our
garage. Or that I had to take Jake in to town to meet up with some of his school mates.
Ah yes that was it. On the way here after dropping Jake off that’s when it happened.’

‘You got the weasels practising in your garage how did they sound now? Danny says
they are playing a gig at school on Friday in their lunch break, 50p entrance.’
‘I don’t think the band get any of that, it all goes into the school fund. I think half goes
towards new music equipment and the rest goes into the school charity fund. Any way
that was why I was late, I had to stop and call the police. Do you know how difficult it is
to get through to the right person to tell them to be quick. You get asked all these
questions about who you are and where you are. Heavens if it had been a real emergency
everyone would be dead before they got off the phone even.’
‘So what happened? Why did you need to call the police?’
‘peacocks.’
‘What do you mean peacocks?’
‘Oh come on Matt you do know what they are don’t you?’
‘Of course I do, but what about them?’
‘In the road, two of them calm as you like just walking about in the road, never mind the
traffic. That’s why I stopped put my hazards on and called the police. Had to wait for
them to arrive, that’s why I was late.’
‘Where did they come from?’
‘I don’t know they weren’t talking peacocks so I couldn’t ask them’

‘Very funny ha ha, did the police have any idea?’
“Nope but they were calling RSPCA to collect them before they come to any harm, then
they were going to call all the big houses in the area to see if they knew anything.’

Leave a Reply

