Robin

This week I  have been attempting to deal with my computer issues. I have now installed Open Office on this laptop so that I can get on with my writing. However I have failed to find a suitable solution to the jumping cursor syndrome.  This makes writing anything painfully slow. If I type slowly it doesn’t happen so much but as soon as I forget and start to speed up off it goes again.

After a visit to my bank earlier in the month I discovered that I was still paying for an insurance policy on my former home. Cancelling said policy resulted in a refund. I used the refund to purchase an old apple ibook G3 via ebay. All my sons and my husband use apple macs either desktop or notebooks. So software is not much of an issue. My husband has the discs for office for mac. My new computer has most of the software I could possibly require. One thing I hadn’t considered was that it was built before wifi became popular so whilst I can work on it in Pug’s room which I am taking over as my office in his absence, I will need to plug it into the router in the living room if I need to use the internet. I am considering getting the appropriate hardware to allow me wireless access but that can wait for now.

Because I have been experiencing these issues I have not added any more to my stories/book. However I have spent a lot of time mulling over the kind of book I want to write and what my characters are like. To that purpose I have begun a folder for my characters so I can build up a picture of who they all are. Both physical and personality wise. At the moment I have Billy as the main Character, he is a middle age family man who works from home. I have a few ideas about what his profession could be. Perhaps some of you might have some suggestions.

On another note we have noticed a few more birds making use of my feeding station. Apart from the starlings who are the most frequent visitors we have seen the sparrows again along with a great tit and one evening whilst the starlings were clambering about a flash of yellow swooped by but I wasn’t quick enough to see what it was. I believe it was either a siskin or greenfinch.

But right now as I look out onto our garden there is a robin hopping around on the ground. This is the third time I have seen him today. Yesterday when I came home from work it was pleasantly warm in the garden I decided to take my mug of tea and my laptop outside. I been there a while when Owl joined me. We were sitting in the sun chatting when I noticed the robin on the bird feeder. I wonder where he has been up until this week.

One comment on “Robin

  1. Debbie says:

    Three things…1. Macs are simply the best and most amazing at keeping my typing fingers happy. 2. Great idea about the folder and characters, keep going with your writing. 3. When I was growing up I made friends with an elderly couple across the alley. They taught me that giving a name to a backyard bird would keep him coming back. We had many a visit from our friend Joe the robin 🙂

Leave a Reply

