Cards

It should be simple.

I have two bank accounts one for paying my bills and one for food, fuel and anything else I want to spend on. I have a debit card for each account. One of these cards was due to expire at the end of march. According to the bank a new card should be sent out a month before the old one expires. Nothing arrived.

On the first of march we got married, so I needed to change my name on my bank accounts.  I finally managed to make an appointment and spent an hour with a personal bank adviser. My name was changed on my account but I would still have to change it on my online banking. Two new personalised bank cards were ordered.

By the end of March there was no sign of my new cards. Not the replacement card with my old name or my two new cards in my new name. A visit to my bank revealed that my bank cards had been sent to my old address. A new set of cards were ordered which would be with me by Wednesday (it was Saturday at the time).

I was excited to be getting my new cards on Wednesday but they didn’t arrive, nor did they turn up on Thursday, Friday or even Saturday. Another visit to branch it was agreed that I would wait a few more days. A check was done to see that the cards had been issued and were being sent to the correct address.  By Thursday I still didn’t have my new cards a week after they should have arrived. This time I phoned the branch.

The cards that I had been waiting for were cancelled and yet more ordered. They should arrive on Saturday or Monday. Did I believe they would arrive, well maybe it would be fair to say that I was not convinced but what could I do other than wait. On Friday evening I invited my husband out for dinner. (At our favourite pub along with live music). When I attempted to pay my card was declined. This was my only remaining working bank card. My only access to my money. I had not had any problems using it (even with my old name) until now. Luckily Owl had some cash with him and we were able to pay our bill.

So yet another visit to branch on Saturday morning to learn that when my new non arriving cards were cancelled so was the card I had been using. I would have to manage without any cards until I received the new ones. The cashier helpfully gave me the last digits of the cards I was waiting for so that when I did finally receive them I could be sure that they were the right ones not the cancelled ones.

It was Wednesday (more than a full month since the first cards had been ordered) when to my huge relief the much awaited envelope  containing two bank cards arrived.  At last I could go shopping with my new bank cards with my new married name on them. Even so when I got to the checkout with my groceries I still held my breath waiting to see if my card would work.

Phew we could now eat again.

One comment on “Cards

  1. You displayed such patience… impressive. 🙂

Leave a Reply

