Peanuts

It’s 1.30am and I am here on the sofa eating jumbo salted peanuts!

Why?

Because my sore throat was keeping me awake. The lump in my throat was so bad that it was making it impossible for me to sleep. I am surprised that my distress wasn’t disturbing Owl’s sleep. I am sure I was whimpering. My sleep problem was not down to my nasal passages being bunged up. It was the severe discomfort of the lump in my throat where one of my glands were still swollen. The other having receded since my last dose of medication.

So here I am on the sofa with a hot drink and peanuts!

Why on earth would I choose peanuts when my throat feels like I have a peanut securely lodged in it anyway.

Why peanuts ? because I desperately wanted chocolate. I find chocolate soothes a sore throat like nothing else can. But although it is only two days after Christmas and there are boxes of chocolate in the lounge and tins of chocolate sweets in the kitchen they are not for me.

Where I am sitting I can see the biggest box of Milk Tray I have ever seen but it has not been opened. I won’t open someone else’s choccy’s even though I know he wouldn’t have minded. Why don’t I eat my own chocolates? Because being diabetic I didn’t get any. 

So here I am on the sofa with a hot drink and peanuts. Actually I am beginning to feel better than I was. Maybe that is the peanuts that I am crunching to death but more likely it is because I am sitting up rather than laying down.

So maybe I shall sit here for a while longer with my hot drink and peanuts and hope I can fall asleep.

2 comments on “Peanuts

  1. Vincent says:

    Now I want to send you chocolates. The Lady in Red loves Milk Tray! I shall arrive at your window like a cat burglar in kid gloves & deliver, with no risk to your marital bliss, as the Owl will be included on the greetings label. Except that I don’t have your postcode. Oh well, it’s the thought that counts. One, two …

Leave a Reply

